My ‘Infographic’ CV

At the time of writing this I am coming towards the end of my MSc course and am expected to begin searching for a job for after I graduate.

In my experience the whole searching and applying for jobs experience takes a lot of motivation to do properly, especially if you’re customising your CV and writing individual cover-letters for each job.

I was recently looking through the internet at ways I could make my CV standout when applying for jobs and came across the idea of an ‘infographic’ CV. Usually ‘infographics’ themselves are used to relay large amounts of information in an attractive way, and some do so really effectively in their use of graphs and imaginative charts.

This classic example of an infographic CV by Chris Spurlock who apparently got a lot of job offers when he spread it around the social ‘blogosphere’. Since then there have been loads more people who have adapted their CVs in an incredible variety of styles (check out this page on coolinfographics.com for examples of some great ones).

Even though most of these CVs are for people working in some kind of design industry, I found myself with a spare afternoon and thought I’d give it a go myself! Using some of the infographic CVs I’d seen as inspiration, I knocked this infographic of my CV up using GIMP. I’m quite proud of it as it’s my first attempt, let me know what you think!

(Obviously it’s not my real details, but you get the idea).

Hope you enjoy it and may find it useful. Always a pleasure.

Ste

About Kaluuja

24yr old MSc student from the UK. I like to try new things and have lots of little projects on the go. I'll share some that are successful, as well as how I got there. I'll also share some of my travelling experiences, which will hopefully grow greatly as I continue this blog.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Blogs, Guides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Super-Duper blog! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am bookmarking your feeds also

  2. Hello there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Keep functioning ,remarkable job!

  5. Definitely, what a splendid website and revealing posts, I surely will bookmark your site.Have an awsome day!

  6. Very good written information. It will be useful to everyone who usess it, including yours truly :). Keep up the good work – for sure i will check out more posts.

  7. You are a very bright individual!

  8. Thanks for commenting everyone, your feedback is always welcome. Glad to see it’s helping people out! I’ll be tweaking my design a bit, so keep checking back for updates!

    Ste

  9. i like that programme gabrielle my gmail is gleontaritsi@gmail.com

  10. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out for much more of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

Leave a comment